My Year 2021: From Broke to Time, Location, and Financial Freedom

My Year 2021: From Broke to Time, Location, and Financial Freedom

Recap of my year 2021.

·

3 min read

The year 2021 has been a roller coaster for me.

It started with being broke and disappointed to end it by making close to $1000 in a few months.

It led me to gain Time, Location, and Financial Freedom.

Below is how things unfolded for me this year.

January: Broke and disappointed

I spent the whole of 2020 at home due to the pandemic. At the start of 2021, I wanted to leave home so badly to start my life afresh.

The problem was that I was broke. I had tried to put my web development skills into good use by building people's websites. I could not land any clients, which made me disappointed.

I decided to get a manual job that paid $6 per day. It would enable me to afford data to continue learning to improve my web development skills.

I continued doing client outreach for my freelance business, but I could not convert potential clients to paying customers.

That is when I realized I was doing everything wrong.

May: A fresh start

I started to learn how to:

  • Build converting websites.
  • Sell my services.
  • Build an audience.
  • Build a personal brand.
  • Write.

I left home on 28th May (I count this as my second birthday) and moved to another town. It was after a relative told me they were starting a new business, and if I wanted, I could be a business partner. My task was to run the business.

In June, I joined Tech Twitter Community, and it was the best decision I have ever made on Twitter. It helped me to make international friends and meaningful connections.

After three months, the business I was running failed so terribly. I had no option but to get a 9 to 5 job to help me pay the bills.

November: Gaining Time, Location, and Financial Freedom

One and half months into my 9 to 5 job, I received a Twitter DM. Someone asked me if I could be interested in writing Technical Articles for their blog ( Arctype Blog ).

They told me they pay between $200 to $300 per article. I did not think twice, and I accepted. I had wanted to give technical writing a shot, and this opportunity couldn't have come at a better time.

I was paid $300 after working on my first technical article. I quit my 9 to 5 job and relocated to the city(Nairobi, Kenya).

Within two and half months, I had made $600 from technical writing. The technical writing earnings brought my earnings close to $1000 in three months for the year.

After moving to the city, I had gained something that I had always wanted... FREEDOM!!!

  • Time Freedom.
  • Location Freedom.
  • Financial Freedom.

Plans for 2022

My plan for 2022 is to crush my goals and become the best version of myself.

Some of the goals I want to achieve by the end of the year are:

  • Make $1000 per month.
  • Hit 20K followers on Twitter.
  • Get 1000 visitors to my blog every month.

I will make $1000 per month by:

  • Building websites.
  • Writing technical articles.
  • Creating HTML and CSS templates.
  • Selling ebooks.
  • Affiliate marketing.
  • Sponsored posts.

I will hit 20K followers on Twitter by:

  • Creating valuable content on Personal Development.
  • Creating valuable content on Web Development.
  • Creating valuable content on writing.
  • Sharing my story and my wins.
  • Engaging with content from other accounts.

I will get 1000 visitors to my blog every month by:

  • Publishing valuable blog posts in my blog.

Conclusion

My 2021 was about gaining Freedom.

  • Time Freedom.
  • Location Freedom.
  • Financial Freedom.

My 2022 will be about crushing my goals and becoming the best version of myself.